top of page

Scientific and Medical Advisory Board

The role of the Scientific and Medical Advisory Board is to work hand in hand with this foundation.  Members of the advisory board were selected by their years of world wide experience in all areas of research and medical knowledge and willingness to co-collaborate with other researchers and medical professionals.

The Advisory Board responsibilities include the following:


  • How our foundation solicits participation in as many quadrants of research and medical care as possible.

  • Writing the research information and medical guides contained on this website.

  • This website is regularly reviewed by the members of this advisory board.

  • How our organization reaches out in all areas of MHE education.

  • How MHE conferences are organized and held.

  • Which Society Annual Meetings the Foundation exhibits during and benefits our mission.

  • How grant notice is sent and grants are reviewed and Foundation funds are spent.

The MHE Research Foundation is a 100% voluntary organization, no salaries or personal benefits are paid to anyone. No honorariums are paid by our foundation at any time for any reason.


Questions to the Scientific & Medical Advisory Board,
Please use the contact Scientific & Medical Advisory Board Tab or you may email directly

Please use the contact Board of Directors Tab or General enquiries can be emailed to


All research project requests concerning the MHE Research Foundation participation should be directed to:  Sarah Ziegler, Vice President & National Director of Research and Coordinator of Clinical Information, Executive Director of the National MHE Research Registry

Benjamin Alman, M.D., F.R.C.S.: Distinguished James R. Urbaniak Professor and Chairman of Orthopaedic Surgery at Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC


Alexandre Arkader, M.D.: The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, PA


Jeffrey D. Esko, Ph.D.: Distinguished Professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine Co-Director, Glycobiology Research & Training Center, UCSD, San Diego, CA


David S. Feldman, M.D.: Co-Director MHE Center, Director of Feldman Center Spinal Deformity Center, Hip Pain & Preservation Center Paley Institute, St. Mary’s Hospital, West Palm Beach, FL, Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Orthopedic Surgery, New York University, NY


Aaron Huser, DO:  MHE Center at the Paley Institute and Spine Institute, St. Mary’s Hospital, West Palm Beach, FL


Jacqueline T. Hecht, Ph.D.: Director of Pediatric Research Center, The University of Texas Medical School 


Matthew J. Hilton, Ph.D.: Hilton Lab, Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Cell Biology, Duke University School of Medicine, Duke Orthopaedic, Cellular, Developmental and Genome Laboratories, Durham, NC


Kevin B. Jones, M.D.: Sarcoma Service, Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgeon, Associate ProfessorOncological Sciences - Adjunct Associate Professor Huntsman Cancer Institute  University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah


Scott H. Kozin, M.D.: Chief of Staff, Shriners Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, PA, Clinical Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery Temple University, PA


Henry M. Kronenberg, M.D., Ph.D.: Chief, Endocrine Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital, Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Boston, MA


Andrew P. McMahon, PhD.: Chair and Professor of Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine W.M. Keck Provost Professor of Stem Cell Research and Regenerative Medicine

Director, Edythe and Eli Broad Center For Stem Cell Research and Regenerative Medicine, The Keck School of Medicine of the USC, CA


Maurizio Pacifici, Ph.D.:Director of Translational Research Program in Pediatric Orthopaedics The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, PA


Dror Paley, M.D., F.R.C.S.C.: Chief and Founder Paley Institute, Co-Director MHE Center Paley Institute, St. Mary’s Hospital. West Palm Beach, FL, Clinical Affiliate Professor of Surgery Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, Florida Atlantic University, FL         

Henry H. Roehl, Ph.D.: Senior Lecturer Dept of Biomedical Science, The University of Sheffield, UK


Luca Sangiorgi, M.D., Ph.D.: Head Genetics Unit, Rare Orthopaedic Diseases, Rizzoli Orthopaedic Institute, Bologna Italy


Dan Wells, Ph.D.: Dean, Natural Sciences & Math, University of Houston, TX


Wim Wuyts, Ph.D.: Department of Medical Genetics University and University Hospital of Antwerp, Belgium     


Yu Yamaguchi, M.D., Ph.D.: Professor, Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute, La Jolla, CA

Scientific & Medical Advisory Board:

bottom of page